Practicing Real Life Hospitality

Dinner Fork

Image via Wikipedia

Today at Faith Barista we are discussing the gift of hospitality.

The dictionary tells us that hospitality is—

1.the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers. 2.the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way.

I could go get my etiquette book by Emily Post and discuss with you the intricacies of how to show proper hospitality. (while being completely dignified and refined, of course) I also have a complete set of Southern Living books that show the most beautiful pictures of home decor and extravagant and mouth watering meals to prepare for ones guests.

Both of these books would do a fine job of showing me how to hold the correct dinner fork, have witty and interesting conversation with my guests, and how to decorate my house like it’s ready to be photographed for a magazine spread.

But, would I be showing real hospitality? Would my guests feel comfortable? Would they want to return to visit with me again?

The Bible tells us many things about hospitality
*Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it.
Hebrews 13:2 NIV
*Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality. Romans 12:13 NIV
*Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. 1 Peter 4:8-9 NIV
Jesus shows us a great lesson in hospitality, in putting others before oneself, in the book of John. He was having dinner with his disciples, and he knew that he did not have much time left before he would be arrested, tried and crucified. He literally had the weight of the world on his shoulders and yet he found time to humble himself and teach a valuable lesson to his fellow dinner guests…
…so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.      John 13:4-5 NIV
The Son of God, holy, set apart….dropped to his knees, took the dusty, dirty, much traveled feet of his friends in his hands. The very hands that would soon be pierced for their iniquities, and ours.
If we are able to show hospitality to others, by loving them as Christ loves, I guarantee they will long to visit with you….and it wouldn’t matter if you had matching silver for your caviar or beans and weenies.
****************************************
FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

7 thoughts on “Practicing Real Life Hospitality

  1. Write on! Thank you for the Bible verses. I love them, and you gave the context which is so meaningful. For me, I needed to know the reference, having forgotten. Going to write them down on a 3×5 card before I leave here.

    Once in Sunday School I was reading aloud Romans 12:13 from my Urbana Bible, and it said, “Practice hospitality, practice hospitality,” so I just read it aloud and everyone laughed because of course theirs didn’t and yet they thought of me as already doing so and now they knew why!

    I love hospitality. I am a mix of introvert/extrovert and have a quite introverted, professor husband who yet is a wonderful host. Thanks be to God!

  2. I’d be more comfortable with beans and weanies. 🙂 But the right hosts can make me feel comfortable with anything. I want to be more that way myself. Thanks for your words of encouragement to keep at it!

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this! Fantastic insight girl! Loved these words by YOU…

    “If we are able to show hospitality to others, by loving them as Christ loves, I guarantee they will long to visit with you….and it wouldn’t matter if you had matching silver for your caviar or beans and weenies.”

    Thought you might like this too…
    What most of us need is a miracle—the miracle of a changed perspective. And that’s what real hospitality looks like. As women we are hungry to lead more beautiful lives and to share those lives with others . . . but we often feel inadequate, unprepared, or just too busy to do so. I want to invite you to rethink what it means to be hospitable: I call it “miraculous hospitality” which is really just about loving with your life.

    It’s not “entertaining” . . . but providing a comfortable setting for people to enjoy and learn from one another.
    Not showing off . . . but sharing life, embracing hospitality as a message you give other people about their value.
    Not kitchen theatrics . . . but kitchen-based ministry, using food as a catalyst for community.
    Not dinner parties and open houses . . . but mealtime communion and openhearted living.
    Not house beautiful . . . but rejoicing in the beauty of shared meals and fellowship in a welcoming setting.
    Not doing something unusual for “company,” but creating an everyday lifestyle that provides welcome to family, friends, strangers . . . and yourself.
    And it’s not just for those with gorgeous homes, professional cooking skills, support staff on call, or special spiritual gifts. It’s the way God intended all of us to live . . . and what God calls, He enables!

    Loving with your life, in other words, is always a matter of loving with your life right now, as you are right now. Each season may look different. But whatever season you’re in, you can find ways to make loving with your life uniquely yours.

    God bless you girl! Tammy

    • One time, someone did invite me over — and yes, she served me weenies! You know, those little itty bitty ones? 🙂 I thought it was funny and we just laughed about it. And gobbled them up! Dawn, I love how you’re always making us feel so comfortable here. I love visiting with you!

  4. Pingback: Bringing God's Blessings » Angels in Disguise

  5. Pingback: Finding My Voice « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

