Whitespace

Cloudy sky

Image via Wikipedia

Today, for the Faith Barista Jam, we are talking about whitespace…. that place where we meet with God.

****************

This is a subject I’m not sure how to write about…. I seriously considered not writing anything today. I have been very restless lately and I don’t know how to make it any better.

Three separate opportunities. Three separate times God has closed the door on those opportunities.

Now what?

I’ve tried different things, looking for my niche’, and just can’t put my finger on it…..except to say that it just isn’t there.

And I don’t know why.

I am most definitely in a limbo state now. I find myself asking God what His plan is? Surely, there is a plan for me.

I am impatient.

I read about trust and perspective… How God is sovereign and He has everything under control.

I know that. I believe that.

And yet….

My struggle is in the waiting, which brings me back to trust.

Trust. A five letter word. A relatively small word, yet carries such a huge meaning.

And so, during my “whitespace” I draw close to God. Yes, I question. Yes, I get frustrated.

But, He hears me.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11-13  NIV

So I wait…and trust…and for now that is enough.

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

6 thoughts on “Whitespace

  1. Oh thank you for writing so openly. Yes, the waiting and the confusion of what’s next, when three doors shut. (not to be cute, but remember Sound of Music?) I pray that this time is drawing you closer to the Father, like Corrie Ten Boom wrote about in Hiding Place, I think, how her dad said he held the tickets for her until they were just ready to enter the train; God holds the keys to unlock the door at the right time! God bless you.

  2. I’m there. Confused and restless in the “whitespace.” I totally get that. Waiting is not my idea of fun either. Trying to learn to rest in it. Thanks for sharing. God bless.

  3. Knowing God’s hand is active in the waiting makes even the wait meaningful. However long it may last, the reward will be in the confidence it builds. I know I am always asking God to tell me his plans ahead of time so I can be ready for them when they come. I’m not good at just living with what I know and trusting that what I will need will be there when the moment arrives. If we can reach a point where the desperation for “that change” fades away in the face of our confidence in God’s very present work that we simply cannot see, we will find that same confidence will shore us up when the thing we’ve been waiting for is set in motion, and we find it more overwhelming than expected. {{{hug}}} This is a lesson I keep having to review. *sigh* But know I am praying for you right now since I can’t offer you anything that will help,… after all, it is God who gave meaning to words, life, and quiet in the first place.

  4. Dawn, I’m so sorry those 3 opportunities didn’t work out. It is really tough to have the faith and courage to knock on those doors to see if they’d open and then find that they are closed. I totally understand that and wish I could have you over and feed you lots of fresh fruits and a cup of coffee with hazelnut in it. Rest up during this next waiting, and I pray right now, that God will prepare the opportunity that is just right for you. And that He will encourage you this week. That He has not forgotten you. Rest up, so you can have energy for the next opportunity to see and to try out. Know that all is not lost. You are not lost, friend! *hugs*

  5. Pingback: Close To Me « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

