Quiet Has Never Sounded So Good

9 May

It is half past four in the afternoon. The sunlight is mellowing  into a golden glaze, with only a few short hours left, until twilight. A time when light loosens it grip on the day, as it slides into night. There is something about this time of day that settles me. Most of my busyness is done, by this point. This time, for me, brings questions of what’s for dinner? I don’t mind being in the kitchen. The paint on the walls of my kitchen and dining room is at its most beautiful during this time of the day. I knew when I picked the soft yellow, called Evening Glow, that it would be perfect.

After dinner, I’ll take a walk around the property. I’ll check out my flowers that are budding, feed my chickens a snack of meal worms and watch them scratch the ground in a frenzy. I’ll go talk with Jazz, the horse, and ask her about her day. Although I am not a horse whisperer, I am becoming more fluent in horse.

The evening is a time to decompress from the fast pace of the day. A time to breathe slowly, to admire fully, and dream big. The rush has slowed to a crawl and the quiet has never sounded so good.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:10 NIV

 

102_4438

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Quiet Has Never Sounded So Good”

  1. melanielynngriffin May 9, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Thanks for linking to my post – what a lovely mood you set. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,066 other followers

