A Life Well Lived

My Day Runner is open on the desk. The days marked off neatly on my calendar.

Calendar

I’m already thinking ahead.

I am marking and highlighting the important events that will occur over the next several months.

I try to prepare for what lies ahead.

Hours. Days. Weeks. Months = TIME

I consider this…the value of it.

How I use it. How I abuse it. How I appreciate it and how I take it for granted.

We all do those things, don’t we?

We assume that we will always have enough, and that the calendar will always allow us yet another day.

That is the worst sort of cavalier attitude, for without appreciation, time, no matter how much, is wasted.

One of my favorite quotes…….

“Don’t be so busy making a living, that you forget to make a life.”

Because, hasn’t God given us this one wild life, to appreciate? Doesn’t He give us the precious gift of time to enjoy?

Shouldn’t our days be full of Him?

Oh sure, we have to work, there are necessary appointments and mandatory assignments…

But, most of the calendar should be filled with moments of thankfulness. Days of gratitude.

A life well lived.

13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.” 14 Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.”  James 4 –NASB

2 thoughts on “A Life Well Lived

  1. Thank you for your insightful post! As a fellow planner I can totally relate! I’ve been thinking how I want to start my day with a prayer asking God what he has on my calendar rather than what I have on mine. Then if I can just remember that my plans are in pencil and his are in pen, I’ll be able to accept his plans when they differ from mine.

  2. I wrote a blog post on this some time ago – yes life is to be lived moment by moment. We have no idea how many more moments there will be.

Leave a comment