My Answer Is Yes!

10 Jan

Yes 4G Eclipse 9

“What is your one word for 2013?”

The question was posed. I have been thinking on the answer…many words come to my mind. Great words. Deep words. Interesting words.

But, not the word for me, for this year.

Then, yesterday, it happened. The word came to me. It hit me like the proverbially ton of bricks.

It is a simple word. Easy to understand, really. The word is…

YES

I said, “yes” to Christ decades ago, but had I been living the yes? I proclaimed with my lips that Jesus was enough, that He alone was all that I needed, but did I live those words? Were they real to me? Sadly, I had to answer “no”, at least not like they should be. My heart broke at the realization. I want it to be true for me all the time. I want my yes to ring clear, in all situations.

I know that Jesus really is enough for me, for you, for the world. He proved it, once and for all.

Yes, it is difficult to remember that, when the diagnosis has been made, the job has been lost, the child is hurt, or the relationship is failing. The yes, comes hard. At times I’ve wanted to run the opposite direction. I’ve chosen the easy. Cried the frustration.

But, I want my answer to be, yes! Yes, to the One who is enough.

Yes, to all He is.

So, my word for 2013 is, yes! Faith walks hand in hand with that yes. When the days are long, or when the days are all too short. In good times, and yes, in the difficult times, because really if my answer, my word, is yes…it has to be yes all the time.

8 Responses to “My Answer Is Yes!”

  1. Steven Sawyer January 10, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    You ask me, “Do you like this post?” My answer today, as every day, is a resounding, “YES!”

  2. sherylo January 10, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    That’s a beautiful way to define your yes–yes to Jesus. I say yes to often to things and not to Him. May your year of yes be a beautiful one.

  3. Leann January 10, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    YES is great! May we all say “yes” more this year. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. Barbie January 11, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    Yes and AMEN to your word! May God continually bless you for the “yes” in your spirit!

  5. FaithBarista | Bonnie Gray January 26, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    Sweet Dawn, I was feeling a little better today and wanted to circle back to thank you for being with me a few weeks ago, blogging in the faith jam with our one words. “yes” really spoke to me in a thousand ways. Because saying yes when it’s hard leads us draws us deeper to where it’s mysterious and real. And it’s all the more beautiful knowing “yes” is the one word God’s placed on your heart for you. “Yes” will be our prompt next week. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When Clutter Isn’t Just About Your House, But Your Heart | Faith Barista - January 24, 2013

    [...] *Next Thursday’s 1/31/13 Writing Prompt is one word: “Yes” (inspired by Faith Jam contributor Dawn’s One Word for 2013 at It Dawned on Me. [...]

  2. The Heart That Says Yes | Faith Barista - January 31, 2013

    [...] *Next Thursday’s 1/31/13 Writing Prompt is one word: “Yes” (inspired by Faith Jam contributor Dawn’s One Word for 2013 at It Dawned on Me. [...]

  3. An Act Of Obedience « It Just Dawned On Me - January 31, 2013

    [...] Bonnie, at Faith Barista, picked my word for the year for this weeks prompt. You can read about it here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,066 other followers

