Do Not Be Afraid

19 Nov

It is difficult.

English: Trust in the Lord. with all thine hea...

English: Trust in the Lord. with all thine heart, and lean not into thine own understanding. Pass under this sign whenever you enter St John’s Church Hall (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My husband tried to reassure me.

His words were true, and yet… the anxiousness was still there.

Why am I this way? I worry and am nervous… about the things that I cannot see…those things I don’t understand.

Lord, You tell me time and time again to trust You. How it must grieve You, during times, I don’t.

To believe Your promises. You are faithful. You know no other way to be.

Trust by faith and not by sight because…

don’t things often become blurred in this life, and can’t we all end up being visually impaired?

And isn’t it also true that when I can’t see into the future, I run to my Abba father?

I draw close to Him because He can see all things, and it is with Him that I am safe?

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27 NIV

***************************************************

Today I am thankful for:

* a husband who wants me to talk with him

* laundry that needs to be done

* opportunity to positively change lives

* soft pillows and snuggly blankets

* the merging of pink and purple in the early morning sky

* creativity

* breath taking beauty

* Thanksgiving

* family

* things to look forward to

* joy in the midst

* second chances

* love, the greatest of these

* the ultimate destination

* Messiah






2 Responses to “Do Not Be Afraid”

  1. Saint In Training November 19, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    You said, “How it must grieve You, during times, I don’t.”

    One day I was feeling the very same about myself. I’d grown frustrated with my failings and inability to trust God. I was sure He must have been weary of my constant doubts and fears. I talked to Him, asked His forgiveness, cried and then asked Him what it was He meant for me to do. God has a way of speaking to me and encouraging me through His word. This is what he gave me to read:

    “For he knows our frame; he remembers that we are dust.” Psalms 103:15 and

    “Why do you complain, Jacob? Why do you say, Israel, “My way is hidden from the Lord; my cause is disregarded by my God”? Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” (Isaiah 40:27-31)

    Be encouraged, God knows you, loves you and has more than enough patience to wait for us to grow. In fact, *He* grows us. We beat ourselves up more than He does. ;-)

    I wrote a post some time ago called “The Book of Consolation”. If you get time, read it. I pray it lifts your spirit. http://wp.me/p11Olu-2H

    God bless and love in Christ,
    Rebecca

  2. Sandy@ Jesus and Dark Chocolate November 23, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Great reminder Dawn!!! Oh how I worry and I am convinced the hormones of life add to the worry, especially at 3am! But you are right, we all become visually impaired at times. Thanks for the reminder to Walk by FAITH not by my visual impairment.
    And you are thankful for laundry yet to be done…….really?? I just can’t bring myself to be thankful for that yet…… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,040 other followers

