Thankful For So Much

24 Sep

Thankful for so much.

Country Lane

Country Lane (Photo credit: Pat Dalton…)

The more I say, “thank you” for what I have, the more things I can think of to say thanks for…

Life is inspiring and messy and chaotic and peaceful. It has its ups and downs, good and bad parts.

It can be awe inspiring and boring, giving contentment and always wanting for more…..

Life is interesting to say the least.

Yesterday I was driving home, down a quiet country road. No other traffic, so I slowed down.

Slowing down is the best way to live life. Too often, I speed through life and am frantic to get to my destination….in a hurry to get things completed. When I forget to thank, life becomes a merry- go- round that won’t slow down. It is only when I say thanks that I am truly enjoying this life God gave me.

Now, our God, we give you thanks,
    and praise your glorious name. 1 Chronicles 29:13 NIV

********************************************************

*beautiful fields of soy bean, burning yellow in the autumn afternoon sunshine

*white farmhouses dotting country lanes

* barns that blot the horizon with stains of faded red

* black and white cows chewing their cud, munching on grass

* side roads I’d like to explore one afternoon

* the open road and adventures waiting

* wishing I had my camera with me, to capture fleeting moments in time

* cooler autumn weather

* warm jacket

* brightly colored mums

* pumpkins at the store already

* the smell of baking banana bread

* chores completed

* time with my children

* my husband’s voice over the phone line

* the realization that I have a good life…not perfect…but, good

And, I am so very thankful.

2 Responses to “Thankful For So Much”

  1. Patti September 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Great blog Dawn! I enjoyed it as always. There is so much to be thankful for. I really like your list! Looks like the country agrees with you!

  2. Miranda September 26, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Hi Dawn! Hopping over from Ann’s! I adore your gift list, especially all barn/farm/cow gifts. :) I miss all those things about my home in Mississippi!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,063 other followers

