Not Getting What I Deserve

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane),...

I’m glad I don’t always get what I deserve.

Oh, sure. I am a law abiding citizen and a productive member of society. I am a wife, a mother, a daughter and a friend. I am a special education teacher, many times assisting those that have no voice. I believe people would tell you, if asked, that I am a good person.

But, what does that mean? Being a good person?

Society calls me a good person….but, I know that I am a sinner. I was bound by my guilt. Even if no one else knew my heart…I did. I knew, and the picture wasn’t always pretty. My thoughts aren’t always pure. My anger sometimes boils over and I say words that I wish I could take back. I am chained to my sin, it is a part of me…..but, it no longer defines me.

My sin condemned me to death. I was not worthy to stand before a holy and just God. What I deserved was separation….but, instead He gave me redemption.

I was redeemed. Saved. Changed.

Yes, I still sin. I’m not perfect. I make mistakes. I do things I shouldn’t and don’t do things that I should.

Jesus stepped in. He took my place. It is HE that covers my sin, so that when the Father sees me…..He sees me through the filter of His perfect and blameless Son.

I didn’t deserve this, it was because of His love for me, that I am one of the redeemed.

Thank God, I don’t always get what I deserve.

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God  Romans 3:23  NIV

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Romans 5:8 NIV

 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 6:23  NIV

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.  Romans 10:9-10  NIV

**********************************************************

Today I am thankful for:

* grace, amazing grace

*redemption

* love, always love

* things I don’t completely understand that leave me in awe

* sunny Monday mornings

* hot tea to soothe a sore throat

* a box of tissues for a stuffy nose

* a warm bed, messy with sheets and blankets

* family time and shared memories

* smiles…the best accessories

One thought on “Not Getting What I Deserve

  1. You always leave me encouraged. each time I visit It Just Dawned On Me. This is a perfect picture of our salvation from the life we once lived, to the sanctified, saved life we now live. Just right. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment