Etched In The Hearts Of Millions

11 Sep

This day, etched in the hearts of millions, is remembered…..

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...

That day eleven years ago looked much like today.

A Tuesday, clear blue skies, and a complacency that came from thinking that we, as a country, were untouchable.

My heart remembers….

May we stay vigilant. Now and forever more.

******************************************************

From my archives…….

A Different World

11 Sep

The day was normal. Just like any other. Elementary school children chattering with each other. My teaching assistant and I were working with our reading groups on that Tuesday morning. A sunny day, nothing out of the ordinary…and then a fellow teacher popped into my classroom to tell me to go and watch the TV in the school conference room. I excused myself, leaving my kiddos with my assistant for a minute.

I stared at the television, not comprehending what I was looking at. The plane, the World Trade Center, the fire and smoke. People everywhere. The second plane hitting the building. News anchors eerily silent as, even they, had no words for what they were seeing. Chills ran across me as I stared in disbelief.

I numbly walked back to my classroom. Knowing that life was different now.

I told my assistant to go to the conference room.

I looked at the faces of all my young students and realized that life as we knew it would never be the same. These children would grow up in a different world than I had.

And it made me so sad.

September 11, 2001

One Response to “Etched In The Hearts Of Millions”

  1. Steven Sawyer September 14, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    What a horrible day for our country. Thank you for sharing. I can’t imagine having to face small children with the news their country had been attacked. I was deeply saddened that day as well, and I will never forget 9/11. Thank you and God bless.
    When are we ever going to grab a cup of tea and chat across the back fence together? I love everything about your home, your countryside and your awesome Godly thoughts you share so personally and eloquently. You are so on point and so direct. I am so long winded and wordy that sometimes I doubt if I really get my point across. And yours are always so crystal clear. I am so grateful to be blogging again after my three-month sabbatical. And I’m eager to continue reading your posts, God bless you and your family. And let’s not forget that cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

