Stretching For Thankfulness

10 Sep

This morning it is still dark outside. I am the only one up.

English: Orange glow at Weybourne Beach The ea...

I’ve spent the last few minutes, searching. I’m not feeling very thankful this morning.

I slept for three and a half hours last night…and my alarm going off at six in the morning did nothing to help my mood.

I wish there was someplace I could go…that was quiet. I desperately need the peace that comes with uninterrupted sleep.

A time for my body to restore itself.

But, there is no time for sleep right now. I have much to do.

So, this morning I struggle.

I reach for thankfulness much like a child standing on tiptoe to reach the top shelf.

If I stretch far enough I can reach it.

And so, my list begins….

*********************************************************************

Today I am thankful for:

* being able to get out of bed…legs that work and feet that are sturdy

* a refrigerator that has food and drink…even though I need to go to the grocery store, I never have to worry about food

* the stillness of the morning and being able to watch the sunrise…that never grows old

* cooler morning and evenings…my beloved Autumn is right around the corner!

* looking forward to family visiting this week

For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving.  1 Timothy 4:4 NIV

2 Responses to “Stretching For Thankfulness”

  1. Steven Sawyer September 13, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Thank you again, Dawn, for your candor, your spirit and your gratefulness. Uninterrupted sleep would be nice. I hope your day and your week improve. Have a great time with your family this week. God bless.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving - Thankful for No Food Poisoning - Far From Normal - January 29, 2013

    [...] Stretching For Thankfulness [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers

