And You Say, “I AM”

4 Sep

Today I was listening to my Nicole Nordeman CD in the car. I often do this, on my way to work.

 

English: Pleiades Star Cluster

 

Her beautiful voice lifted my spirit as she sang, I AM.

 

That particular song inspired me to write my own words, mimicking the theme of I AM.

 

*************************************************************

 

When life becomes tough and the edges are rough

 

When I wonder how I’ll make it through…

 

I cry, “Heart mender, my Defender….capture my tears just as they fall.”

 

And You say, “I am”.

 

On days that are light, and the sunshine is bright

 

When everything is going just right….

 

I cry, “God my Creator, Personal Savior….hear my praises.”

 

And You say, “I am”.

 

When I am overwhelmed, wondering whose at the helm

 

Watching the waves crashing all around…

 

I cry, “My Rock and Redeemer, grab my hand….”

 

And you say, “I am”.

 

As the years pass by and I find myself sigh

 

as time etches wrinkles, where youth had once been

 

I cry, “Awe Maker, Star Gazer, Question Taker…hold me, if you can”

 

and You say, “I am”.

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'”  Exodus 3:14 NIV

 

 

 

One Response to “And You Say, “I AM””

  1. Steven Sawyer September 7, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Dawn, it is wonderful to be back blogging again. I haven’t read any posts since May. Yours are always refreshing and encourage me. Even the not so happy ones. We all have those. I love your version of I Am. I asked my pastor to find for me a song we sang in our praise team called I Am. It is so beautiful! I want to share it with you when he gets me a copy. It is one of my all time favorite or our praise team songs. And the young lady who sings it will make you cry (a good cry). It’s like the Father is singing it to us. I can’t wait for you to hear it. I hope everything is going well for you. We’ll have to have a cup of coffee and chat over the Facebook fence sometime. I missed reading Dawn all summer and am so glad to be reading Dawn again. God bless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,048 other followers

