At The Point Of Adjustment

29 Aug

You'll Be Safe Here

I don’t know many people that live their lives thriving on change. Few individuals wake up each morning saying, “I wonder how I can completely rearrange my life?” Most of us enjoy our routine. We like knowing what to expect. It is comfortable…and feels safe. It’s really not safe, but we like to believe that, don’t we?

Sometimes change comes into our lives as an uninvited guest. It is not what we were looking for, or even remotely what we wanted, but it comes all the same. It seems that most of the time, when we have life changes, we are sort of forced into the change. Growing up, graduations and new jobs, labor and childbirth (a joy to have your new baby…but, the pain to get to that point is not something any woman enjoys), job loss, death of a loved one, health issues, moving to a new area, growing old.  All changes to be sure. All take adjustment.

I read something that I had written in the margin of my Bible, the page on which Isaiah 55 is written. A thought from the Experiencing God study.

“The greatest single difficulty in following God may come at the point of adjustment.”  I don’t remember exactly when I wrote that down. Obviously, at that time I must have been going through something, and it resonated with me. It is true though. Deeply profound, really. It is easy to say that one believes in God when everything is going well for him or her. It is a smooth walk when the path is well lit and God shows me the way.

But……..

It is in the hardness of change, the uncertainty of what will happen next, that one’s truth faith really shows. Do I trust Jesus when I can’t see around the bend? Do I know He is there when the darkness threatens me? Am I running towards Him when life hurts me and I’m scared? When I’m placed in a new situation and I have no idea what I’m up against, do I trust Him no matter what? Knowing that He always has my best interest in mind?

My answer should be, yes! Sometimes the yes is said with laughter and the feeling of being blessed beyond my wildest dreams. Other times the yes, is uttered in the dark when I’m not sure which way to go, or when the tears fall because my world has to find a “new normal”.

Yes.

Always, yes.  If I love the Lord, as I claim….then my answer should always be yes.

As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:9 NIV

One Response to “At The Point Of Adjustment”

  1. K.A. August 29, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Thank you for this! I am thinking lately about wanting to make changes, but am unsure how to begin…so this really applies. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,034 other followers

