My B-I-B-L-E

27 Aug

It’s cover has faded from a rose pink to more of a faded blush. The once new leather, is now soft to the touch. There is only a faint bit of silver

Cover for a NIV Bible

left on the embossed letters of my name. The binding is broken, and the books of Ephesians through 1 Peter have to continually be tucked back in. There are pages that have tape and creases that can’t be fixed. It’s not really much to look at anymore…….

And yet, it is one of my most prized possessions.

This Bible of mine, is precious to me. It is personal. It is real…. from God to me. It’s a law book, a life manual, a treasure trove of wisdom, an adventure story,  a romance, and an autobiography. The past, the present and the future collide in a heart pounding, mind blowing, life changing book.

I write in my Bible. Some would reprimand me for this. Others would say that they do the same. Regardless, if anyone were to pick up my Bible they would see my life story mingled among the pages of God’s Word,  laid out before their eyes.

Notes scribbled in margins, words from various pastors. Quotes that meant something to me. Questions next to particular verses. The baptism of my son in 2002. The death of my late husband in 2000. Scripture underlined for emphasis. Other words boldly highlighted. The Wednesday night service after 9/11 happened….when I was crying and didn’t understand. Other times I wrote my thoughts when the words deeply resonated with me. I added my wedding date to my second husband. I had written in margins, words that reminded me that, although life might not have gone according to MY plans, life is still good and God continues to be Sovereign. I am blessed. Really, blessed. Far beyond what I deserve.

Above all else, my Bible reminds me that I love a God who did not create me and then leave me forever.

He is coming back for me.

It won’t be over. It will just be beginning.

And I can’t wait to read that next chapter.

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 109:105  NIV

***************************************************************

Today I am thankful for:

* bright glowing, fiery sunrise

* morning quiet

* late summer coolness in the air

* purring cats

* a new school year

* being able to teach

* helping others

* a car that runs

* A God who is involved

* Jesus who is preparing a place

* laughter

* birds swooping through the sky

* a clean dining room table

* getting a good deal at the store

* a happy sister

* good kids

* a husband who reminded me that we are “stuck” together for as long as we both shall live

* fresh eggs from my own chickens

* looking forward to family visiting

* life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,066 other followers

