It Has Changed Me

1 Aug

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can hear my foot steps as I meander through the dry grass. The dog stops and sniffs the air, smelling the scent of something unseen to me. The sun hangs low in the sky, as the evening takes on the subdued hues of twilight. I stop and look toward the horizon. The silhouettes of the trees, dark against the fading light. I enjoy walking in the evening. There is a peace for me at that time of the day. The day is drawing to a close, and whether or not I have finished all I had planned is no longer important.

Time is valued the most when the pace is slow.
I am realizing this more and more. When I have too much to do, when the urgent steals the minutes, I lose time. Precious time. Sure, there are still twenty-four hours in each day regardless of schedule, but what is time for, if not to enjoy it?  There are too many things in this life that pull at peace. I never want to regret time lost, to that which is not worthy.

I drove down the road yesterday and saw a wild, mama turkey with her two babies. Last week a mama deer with her two fawn. I smell the fresh cut grass as I watch my husband ride across our yard. I notice the smile on the oldest son’s face as he shows off his new (used) car. I feel the scruff of  my son’s stubble against my cheek when  I receive a quick kiss. I hear the sound of the door slam as my daughter goes to take care of her horse. I appreciate the short back rub that I get. I laugh out loud at the antics of the dogs, and shrug my shoulders at the spilled food dishes. I smell the scent of vanilla and cinnamon in the air, and enjoy the blast of cold from the freezer while getting some ice for my tea.

English: A Canada Goose flying at Burnaby Lake...

Soon, I will hear the Canadian geese flying overhead and know that they carry the crisper, cooler days of Autumn, with them. The corn will fade and the tractors will chug with the sounds of harvest. The skies will turn gray, and there will be the hint of wood smoke in the air. The summer of 2012 will fade into memories. That is what I mean. Time….it moves on. That is why it is so important to me to enjoy the days, the moments, that make up this life….because they will not be here forever.

Slowing down, enjoying…..changes things.

It has changed me.

 

Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  James 4:14 NIV

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

