T-I-M-E

10 May

We’ve heard it said that time is our most valuable possession. Twenty-four hours hardly seems like enough time for everything that must get done.  Can we admit that we all feel it? The worn ragged feeling? The frazzled nerves and the trying to keep up? We wake up, and grouch and complain about the early hour. We look at the clock through out the day and either worry that we won’t have enough time to accomplish our tasks, or we attempt to

Clock Face in Shadow

Clock Face in Shadow (Photo credit: KRO-Media)

mentally move the clocks hands forward to hasten the time.

Work to do. Errands to run. Time to rest.

A life to live. A moment to ponder.

Minutes become hours. Hours, days. Before we know it, years have passed.

Most of us are so cavalier with the use of our time. We assume that we have plenty of time to waste.

Time that we have been taking for granted. Time given as a gift.

My human nature is to never be satisfied with time. I want more time to rest…or I have too much time and I am bored. My children seemingly grew up before my very eyes. They look forward to the time ahead, and I look back wondering where it went?

I look in the mirror to see the beginning of wrinkles around my eyes. How can that be? Wasn’t I just twenty-one, yesterday?

And I begin to hear the faint tick…tick….tick of the clock hands moving.

Time doesn’t stop.

Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12  NIV

Last night, I listened to a woman speak about time. Her words were both profound and haunting.

At thirty-seven, she has come to terms with the fact that she only has a few months to live. She is in the last stage of terminal cancer. She is married and has two young children…..and she knows that she will soon die.

We all will die…it’s just that some of us realize it.

When I hear something like this…I want to change. I want to do things differently. I want to be present with my eyes wide open.

I want to stop and listen. I want to slow down and enjoy. I want to say the words that might seem embarrassing, but would mean so much. I want to make memories, and etch time with my laughter.

Stopping to smell the roses, is not just a cliche’.  It is a good way of living.

I don’t want to get to the end of my life…the end of my time….and realize that I never really lived.

There is no time like the present…to make that change.

All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.  Psalm 139:16  NIV

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,040 other followers

