I Know I’ll Be Home

18 Apr

Today, at A Holy Experience, we are discussing resurrection.

Resurrection. A powerful word. I spoke about it a lot in the weeks leading up to Easter. I understand that resurrection. Jesus, alive, no longer in the tomb! This morning I looked up the word, and I came across these definitions:  resurgence, revival.

Casais Estacios Pillows

I looked at the word, revival. How am I part of that word? What kinds of things can I do, to be revived? I’ll be honest. There are a lot of times that I know I need some revival. Life can be dry. Withered. Needing refreshment.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about Heaven. I used to think about it a lot after my first husband died. Heaven became not just a place, but a destination. The end of a journey. Home.  No, I was not anxious to see Heaven, in the sense that I wanted to die….but, I believe it is natural to think about when you lose someone you love.

Presently, I’ve been thinking on these verses, found in the book of John.

 1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4You know the way to the place where I am going.”

 5Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

 6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”  John, Chapter 14  NIV

Because He lives, and because I know the truth of John 14:6, I will live too.

I think on Christ’s words.  Don’t be troubled. I’ve gone ahead. I’m preparing a place for you. You will be with me.

Heaven is real.

And this is how my mind works……. I think on the words,”preparing a place”. I know that I try to prepare if people are coming to visit. Fresh sheets on the bed, cleaning the house, special meals prepared….. I want the visitors to feel at home. I think about what Jesus meant when he said he was preparing a place. I know there are Biblical scholars, much more intelligent than I, that probably could speak to this, but even they don’t know for sure. Not really.

I know my family members. I know what their favorite meals consist of, I know the shows they like to watch, the style of clothes they wear, what decorating style they are drawn to, even what flavor of toothpaste they prefer. I know what makes home, home for them.  As Christ’s child, His redeemed, He knows me intimately. He is preparing a place just for me, and if you are also His child, then He is preparing a place just for you, too. A place where you will feel revived, new, and wanted.

I laugh to myself. For as long as I can remember, when shopping, I’ve always wanted to touch everything. The silkiness of the drapes, the plush feel of the couch pillows, the softness of the sheets. The warmth of a fuzzy blanket. God made me very aesthetic. I am drawn to detail and how things make me feel.  When I take pictures of sunsets, the sky ablaze with vibrant color, I feel peace. When I sit on my front porch on a lazy summer afternoon, watching the llamas across the road, I feel content. When I hear the crunch of the gravels on the driveway…I know I’m home.

Don’t I know, in my spirit, that Jesus will have my place prepared? He knows me. And won’t my spirit be revived as I enter my new home? Seeing Him, who makes all things new.

5 Responses to “I Know I’ll Be Home”

  1. thejammiegirl April 18, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I love your take on “preparing a place”. After I read this post I had to just sit for a minute and smile, thinking what a lovely, simple place can someday be mine in Heaven. It has quilts and dogs :)

    • duane2scott April 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

      I love this post.

      And I love this comment.

      She said what I was going to say. He’s preparing a place for me too. But mine has a bench overlooking a quiet valley and I’ll sit there sometimes and share Cheetos with all my squirrel friends. :)

  2. byhisgrace211 April 18, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Very inspiring. I will see you in heaven one day and we can give each other a high five! :-) ~~Michele

  3. LeAnn Williams April 18, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    I loved reading your thoughts today. I do think a place is prepared for us and I take great comfort in those thoughts. I love the Savior and try to follow him and do the things he would have me do. Thanks for your sweet post today!

  4. Court April 18, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Have you read “Heaven is for Real” by the little boy that had an experience going to heaven while having surgery? I used to think stories like that were gimmicky but it was so genuine and man an amazing story. Will captivate your heart for a good week wondering what it will be like!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

