Archive | 6:35 am

Magical Memories

16 Apr

Dusk in the Smokies

That November evening was clear and cool. Early darkness had settled in, as happens on the cusp of winter.  The park, nestled in the Smoky Mountains, was lit, seemingly just for us. Very few people were there that night. The trees twinkled with Christmas lights, music filled the air, the sweet taste of warm chocolate chip cookies and steaming cups of hot chocolate felt good to both the body and soul.

My aunt was visiting, and she, along with my mother and six year old son, made my evening complete. Every light, every sound was just for us….the beauty was ours to savor.

The previous year had been a struggle, learning how to live as a widow…my new role in life….but, that night…..was different.

That evening was a special celebration–a time to enjoy. That evening God granted me time to delight, to feel, to really see and just be in the moment. I still hold that special time close to my heart, over a decade later.

Memories are something I am thankful for.

*******************************************************************************

This day I am thankful for:

* good memories that continue to make me smile

* hard memories that I learned something from

* the opportunity for second chances

* eggs for breakfast

* the opportunity to go to Finders Keepers one more time before the stored closed

* pets, I love my animals so much!

* old friendships renewed

* painting word pictures

* lunch out with my husband

* chores completed

* my head on a soft pillow

* new objects to decorate with

* warm sunshine

* things I look forward to

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers