In Search Of The Nativity

10 Dec
Krippe crib family w 3wisemen

I decided a couple of months ago that I needed a new nativity. I already have two. One is a cut crystal and the other solid white ceramic. I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought those sets. I mean, they are pretty and everything but, they are almost too pretty, if you know what I mean. I wanted something a little more real…well, as real as a nativity scene can be.

My first hunt for the nativity was on Black Friday. I know, not the best night (early morning?) to be looking for a nativity. I just need to say that Wal-Mart had exactly two nativity scenes. One was a snow globe and the other was a plastic ensemble that was a scary scene of molded plastic and vibrant colors that made the baby Jesus look clownish. Sigh. Not want I wanted at all. I would wait for something better. Something more.

Today I set off with my son and daughter to find a nativity. One with a stable and with people that did not look scary. We headed over to the antiques stores in the quaint little town of Mount Victory, Ohio. I figured (hoped?) that we would be able to find a vintage nativity scene. I told the kids on the way there that it would be great if we could find one that had been made in Italy, and was made with paper mache‘. The ones made in Italy seem to be more realistic and are painted nicely. I didn’t know that we would really find one, but I hoped.

The first store, and the kids spotted some nativities. The second one that was found, was made in Italy and it was made from paper mache’. It was meant to be! I was so excited.

In the hustle and bustle of this Christmas season, I was reminded. The holy scene in the stable, is still here. The scene of Mary and Joseph with baby Jesus is just as real this afternoon as it was over two thousand years ago.

Sometimes it just takes quietly looking for it. Persevering. Remembering.

You know what?  I believe Jesus was delighted that I found that nativity scene this afternoon, on the shelf of that old store.

He was there waiting for me…

just as He waits, for each of us, to find Him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 977 other followers

