Darkness Can Be Terrifying

4 Nov
Light in the night (Castelldefels)

Image by jcarlosn via Flickr

I set  it on the counter.

The flame in the lantern flickers. It sways with the current of air. I watch it as it dances, licking up the oxygen, giving off light.

Because…

darkness can be terrifying.

The unknown, the unseen–all fear.

Secluded.

One flame, but oh how it shines.

Darkness is overcome by the Light.

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”         John 8:12 NIV

*********************

Are you facing darkness today? Are there things that are keeping you in the shadows?

You don’t have to stay there.

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 119:105  NIV

 

4 Responses to “Darkness Can Be Terrifying”

  1. dove124 November 4, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    How about you, do you consider yourself to be already in the light, just because you read the bible and accepted Jesus Christ to be your “Personal Savior” ?

    • Dawn November 4, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      We all live in a broken world….and it can and does get dark for all of us. (one doesn’t have to look far to find that, just turn on the news or read the headlines) I consider myself a sinner. To be honest with you, I do see things differently now that I know Christ. He is the light, and it is He that gives me direction when I feel the darkness of fear, uncertainty, grief, or sadness in my own life. I am saved by His grace, nothing that I did myself. So, to answer your question…..I look to 1 John 1:5-10. This was (is) my intent for my blog post.

      BTW, I do appreciate you taking the time to read my blog post. Even if you disagree with me, or question me, you did it in a kind manner without attacking me. Thank you.

  2. Pastor Bryan Lowe November 9, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Thank you, dear one. I think I may understand. You write well.

    ybic, Bryan

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Outside the Darkness Are Certain Colors « Broken Believers - November 9, 2011

    [...] Darkness Can Be Terrifying (gibsongirl247.wordpress.com) LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "dddddd"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "books"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "affliction"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "darkness"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "depression"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "despair"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "following-jesus"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "jesus-christ"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "light-therapy"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "linda-kruschke"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "poetry"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "christian"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "christianity"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "darkness"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "depression"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "faith"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "jesus"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "jesus-christ"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "light"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "light-of-life"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "poem"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "poetry"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:TwitterEmailFacebookStumbleUponPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,051 other followers

