I Am Known

3 Oct
360° panorama of Racetrack Playa in Death Vall...

Image via Wikipedia

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?

……O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!”  Psalm 8:3-4, 9 NIV

I’ve always been drawn to the night sky. When I was young, I would pour over articles on space. I would tell anyone who would listen, about stars, comets, planets and black holes. For several years, I was sure that I wanted to grow up and be an astronomer.  I just knew I’d spend my lifetime looking at the stars. Over the years, the dream of being an astronomer quietly died, but my passion for the night sky did not.

There is nothing like staring into the night sky to realize just how small I actually am.

It always puts things in perspective for me.

Psalm 8. David wrote this Psalm. A song….to be set to music. David was the king of Israel. A man after God’s own heart. He was not perfect, far from it….but, he was humble before God. I can relate to David because he too stood, staring at the night sky, realizing how small he actually was. “What is man that You are mindful of him?”  Yes. He got it.

Hanging over the railing of the deck. Staring. Trying to drink it all in. I can see the stars. The moon. The swirl of the Milky Way. All of this with just the naked eye. I am connected.

The Creator of this night time extravaganza is with me. He watches as I look at His work.

He sees me. Really sees me.

How many times in this life, have I been in a room full of people, and yet do not feel seen? Not known? Not understood?

And  yet……

Here on the deck, in the dark of the night.

I am known.

Known by the Creator of the night time sky,

who also created me.

***************************************

Thankful for so much this first Monday in October.

*looking forward to family visiting

*dark blue sky

*sleepy smiles

*a new school room

*help, when I need it

*scripture that speaks to me

*smooth, sweetness of hot chocolate

*lavender plants

*freshly swept front porch

*warm sweaters

*beautiful Autumn leaves

*harvest corn

*being fully known

4 Responses to “I Am Known”

  1. *✿ ℒoy•✿• October 3, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I am so amazed to have read this here, “I’ve always been drawn to the night sky. When I was young, I would pour over articles on space. I would tell anyone who would listen, about stars, comets, planets and black holes. For several years, I was sure that I wanted to grow up and be an astronomer. I just knew I’d spend my lifetime looking at the stars. Over the years, the dream of being an astronomer quietly died, but my passion for the night sky did not.”………

    you know what, I had the same desire when I was 10 and it went on til high school. I even told God to not let me die without being able to see the wonders He has made beyond what my eyes can reach. I told him I know He created those vast expansion out there for a purpose I wanted to appreciate every bit of beauty…a small glimpse who how beautiful our God is….Thanks for bringing back another nostalgia to my path….

  2. April October 3, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Beautiful post! Have a wonderful week!

  3. Stefanie Brown October 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Wonderful list! I opted out of 1000 Gifts today. I joined the 31 Days challenge by the Nester.
    Have a blessed day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Is Man That You’re Mindful Of Him? | The Watchman – Illuminating lives through the light of His Word - November 18, 2011

    [...] I Am Known (gibsongirl247.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "0066cc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "f2f7fc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "ff4b33"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "science"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "religion"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "devotionals"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "david"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "hubble-space-telescope"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "nasa"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:EmailFacebookStumbleUponRedditPrintLinkedInTwitterDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers

