Come What May

15 Sep
"ladies in a line"

Image via Wikipedia

It is so easy in today’s society to go for days without actually talking to anyone.

Fast food drive through, talking to a machine.

Phone calls talking to computerized voices.

Self checkouts at the stores.

Chatting via status updates on the internet.

Using phones to text instead of using one’s voice.

As wonderful as technology has been for us as a whole…it can lead to isolation if one is not careful.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”
C.S. Lewis

We all need relationship. We crave it. We were never created to be completely on our own.

Proverbs 27:17 Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.

There is nothing better than having a friend to just hang out with. Someone with whom to pray, swap stories, give opinions, occasionally rant, and to hear, “it’s all going to be okay.”  An opportunity to look into the eyes, see a smile, give a hug, hold a hand. Don’t we all want a friend(s) that will stick with us, come what may?

Friendship requires availability.

Time.

Effort.

There is nothing better than being “at home” with another person.

Friendship is a valuable gift.

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.”  C.S Lewis

*******************************************************

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

8 Responses to “Come What May”

  1. We're Jumpin' September 15, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Agreed!

  2. Donna September 15, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Amen!!! This is the amazing life friendships I have. More precious than silver or gold!

  3. Lisa notes... September 15, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Love the first C.S. Lewis quote. That has happened to me lots of times. Friendship definitely is a valuable gift.

  4. Jennifer September 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Ahh you used C.S. Lewis quotes! Love that! You are right, friends add immeasurable value to our lives!

  5. Stefanie Brown September 16, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I surely can relate to what you’ve written. Since moving to Dallas, I’ve longed for that type of friend. I had been blessed with one the previous 8 years “back home”, but haven’t cultivated that type of friendship since moving here. To His glory, I am purposefully putting myself out there more. I’ve had 2 lunches in the past 2 weeks with new friends. Friends who encouraged and want me to be the person God has designed me to be. What a blessing!

  6. Nikole Hahn September 17, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Our teens are most vulnerable to that with video games and online worlds. Nothing replaces in real life.

  7. Flamingo Dancer September 18, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Love the C.S.Lewis quote!

  8. FaithBarista Bonnie September 20, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Dawn, that first CS quote is new to me.. and I LOVE IT! Thank you for sharing it. The 2nd CS quote is one of my faves. I totally agree with what you’re expressing so beautifully here. Esp. for introvert/extroverts like me, I can easily find myself just happy by myself. But, as you know, God doesn’t leave us there. ;) I hope one day we can meet, my friend! For now, I’m glad there is the blogosphere — it brought me *you* ! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

