Driving Towards Home

 

Yesterday I drove the roughly 30 miles (one way) to get a John Deere mower part for my husband. Actually, I really love the drive. I get to drive down country roads, with hardly any traffic, and just enjoy the scenery. I brought my camera with me. I do not advocate snapping pictures while driving, but I literally had no one else around for the entire trip back home. Just me and the barns. And corn. And thunderstorm.

 

On the road again…..just can’t wait to get on the road again…..

This old barn looks lonely. It makes me kind of sad to see barns deteriorating. Sigh.

Pretty farm.

Love this picture. Barn in a sea of corn. I’m glad the Ohio farmers were finally able to plant their corn after all the torrential rain we had this past Spring.

Another barn and more corn. In the Midwest one sees a lot of barns and corn. It doesn’t get old for me.

Hard working, older barn.

I like this picture. The farm in the bend of the road. Notice the sky went from sunny to now getting a bit darker. Hmmm…….were we supposed to get rain?

This is a Methodist church…literally in the corner of the road. That is a sharp turn, too. I’d be scared to be sitting in the sanctuary of that church…if somebody doesn’t make that curve,  he/she (and their vehicle) might be joining the service that day.

I have to have a John Deere picture in here. After all this is the country.

Still snapping pictures….this is on the last road until my house. Um…..sky looking very ominous. I know this picture is blurry….I was driving a little faster–wanting to get home before the rain.

Uh oh. I’m not going to make it before the rain gets me. This doesn’t look good. The sky has turned VERY dark. Um…..I’m getting a little nervous now. Hmmmm…….

Ewwww…..angry, angry sky. (this is roughly 1:30 in the afternoon…when I left the house about an hour and a half before it was sunny and hot) If a tornado gets me, I hope my husband posts these last pictures that I have taken.

Shew. I made it home but, not before the storm hit. Full force. What was really creepy…..I saw the wind coming at me across the field. The corn was bowed over as the wind raced at me. SLAM. It hit the van and I had to hold the steering wheel tightly just to keep it on the road. Then the rain hit. I felt like I was in the rinse cycle of the washing machine. My windshield wipers could hardly keep up.

Thunder. Lightning. I sat in the van in the driveway for several minutes before I made a break for the house.

What a day.

I was glad to be home.

2 thoughts on “Driving Towards Home

Leave a comment