Everyone Has A Story…

28 Dec
Charles Kuralt, Host from 1979–1994

Image via Wikipedia

My husband gave me the DVD set of the late Charles Kuralt, On The Road series. The series used to air on CBS Sunday. Mr. Kuralt and crew were in an RV, traversing the highways and bi-ways of America. He met people in the big cities and small towns of this country. His key phrase had him wondering what was “up around the bend”. Even though I was a child for most of his years on TV, and don’t really remember watching the series, I am intrigued by his travels, now, as an adult.

One day, I hope to “hit the road” for an extended period of time. Meet people. Write their stories. I long to see America in a way that isn’t shown on the nightly news. There is something to be said for taking time to go down the road less traveled, to sit and listen to stories that  might otherwise never be heard.

I think that is why I love blogging so much…and reading other people’s blogs. I get to meet people in a sense…get to know them. Just like a book can take me to a place I’ve never been…my blog friends show me their lives in parts of the country that I’ve never had opportunity to visit. Yet.

2 Responses to “Everyone Has A Story…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Passion With Purpose « It Just Dawned On Me - August 25, 2011

    [...] to their stories. I would have loved to meet him and ask him if he enjoyed finding out what was “up around the bend”. I don’t need to jet set around the world. As a matter of fact, in my opinion, flying [...]

  2. Traveling The Back Roads Of This Country | It Just Dawned On Me - March 19, 2014

    […] I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I am a huge fan of the late Charles Kuralt’s, On The Road. He was a news man that got out of the box and onto the backroads of this great country. For him, no topic was too small, no person too insignificant. Kuralt once said, “There are sights in this country and people in this country to banish any gloom you ever may feel and to fill you instead with wonder.” By noticing the ordinary and celebrating originality, he exalted us all. (On The Road with Charles Kuralt) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,034 other followers

